2WD to 4WD straight axle conversion guidance

G. Mann

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Recently bought a 92 F350 CC DRW Longbed with a blown head gasket [thanks to everyone for the advice on that issue].

I've decided to pull the engine to do the heads and reseal the engine, fix what ever else it needs, AND get rid of the C6 slush tranny for a ZF5 speed which I "happen to have waiting". So my ever active mind says,
"This truck has everything I want except for 4WD" and now would be a great time to put that in also since the engine will be out and access will be soooo much better, so.....

What I want: Straight axle with leaf springs in front, 4WD front axle, divorced transfer case.

Who has done the straight axle? What axle should I look for [remember, it's a dual rear wheel truck]
Guide me please... recommendations?

Divorced transfer case selection? It's a crew cab so there is some "room" under there.

Thanks in advance.

Greg5OH

Full Access Member
Reaction score
im no expert, but div NP205 is about all there is , 78 ford f250 had the correct driver drop we need. this is what i have. Just fabbed my own mounts. its 2:1 ratio.

DRW in the obs style doesnt matter for front axle, its all the same D60, just get the dually adapters (i think even the tw twin i beam should have adapters) and put them on to run your factory dually wheels.

If you make your midshaft correctly , you can use the auto rear driveshaft from an E40d (which i believe is longer than a c6) just chnage the front weld yoke to a fixed unit to accept the output of the np205-which btw you shoudl change the output to at least a 1350-as it came with 1330 most likely. I went 1410 on my entire rear driveline, 1350 up front.

IDIoit

MachinistFabricator
Supporting Member
Reaction score
which ZF5 do you have?
does it have the e-brake on the tailshaft?
if so, you can run a married transfer, besides that, greg is right the div NP205 is the way to go.
this is what ill be doing on my 98 E350,