Using a 6.0L PSD Fuel Pump...

Silver91Hatch

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Ok guys, I am debating the electric fuel pump idea for my rollback. Can someone give the me the Pro's and Con's of say a 6.0L PSD HFCM on the IDI? I am a Ford Tech and I have replaced a couple of these pump's over time for lack of pressure (between 30-40 psi) and I was wondering what the issues would be with running one of these pumps on the IDI.

The Pro's I see are.

Fuel water separator - Currently mine was disconnected by the PO, just found that out this weekend.

Electric pump - No brainer there

Filters - The Motorcraft PSD filter is a very good design with the water-phobic membrane around it, etc Readily available (6.0L's are EVERYWHERE)

Reliability - I have only seen 3-4 of these pumps actually fail and when they do its a loss of pressure, around 30-40 psi and not a just dies issue.

Mounting - They are factory chassis mounted pumps that sit inside the frame rail and I think I have a very good location for one on my F-series chassis.

Also the Econolines have a different pump that mounts the filter vertical and uses the lower half as a FWS, but I like the F series pump better.

The Cons I see

Cost - They are not cheap units. I get a discount working for the dealership but its still not a cheap endevor

Filter Cost - You are required to buy the filters in pairs and I would never use the upper filter. Around $100 for a set of filters.

Silver91Hatch

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Well the FPR is in the secondary fuel filter housing so I don't know what kinda pressure it would make without one.

Wiring is very simple. 2 wire for the pump and 2 wire for the WIF light. Power and ground turn the pump on. For the WIF light I think its just a ground from one side to the sensor, from the sensor to the WIF light. Then when water hits it, it will flow ground across the terminals and turn the light on, but I could be tottally wrong about the WIF part.

bghnkinf350

Reaction score