universal injectors instead of BB ???

Boston

Full Access Member
Reaction score
OK so I just received a set of Delphi injectors for my 91 7.3 from "The Diesel Store" and they didn't specify the BB designation on the package anywhere, so I called them. They said the difference in specs was so minor that they now just make a universal injector.

Should I return them and go looking for a set of BB or is this the right part. I'm going to be running mostly WMO through this thing and I'm still pretty new at using that particular fuel. Anyone used these universal injectors before and how do they compare to the specific ones

thanks guys
B

icanfixall

Official GMM hand model
Reaction score
I have never heard of the diesel store. Who and where are they. Are these rebuilt injectors. I really feel someone is selling you what they had on the shelf and in all my years with these trucks I have never been told anything about a "universal injector". At this point I'm very suspect of the seller telling you this piece of information. Every injector I have personally worked with has a letter stamped in the wrench hex as to what it is. Look at the wrench hex for these letter.

subway

be nice to the admin :D
Reaction score
could they mean that they are all "BB" code and that is what they use for everything? the sales guy just summed it up as universal?

i have heard that they dont really make any of the other code injectors anymore since there is really no reason to when the "BB" codes work well in any IDI engine.

Agnem

Using the Force!
Supporting Member
Reaction score
I'd be inclined to believe they are BB, and that their marketing approach is just to call them "universal" to eliminate confusion on the part of uneducated buyers.

Boston

Full Access Member
Reaction score