Test please ignore

DesertBen44

Full Access Member
Reaction score
How to- Install an Electric Fuel Pump in your IDI

NOTE- I am no expert on this, but during my install I consulted the forum many times with questions, figured I would try and create one thread that could answer most questions people may encounter, and show those skeptical about making the switch just how easy it is.

WHAT YOU NEED

-Fuel pump (I used the Facet Dura-Lift/Carrier Transcold Pump supplied by Sir Genlightning

You must be registered for see images attach

-2 1/8 MPT-3/8 hose barb brass fittings (90 degree)

-1 brass fitting to fit onto your pump inlet (Mine was destroyed so i bought a 1/4 MPT-3/8 MPT angle piece, and a 3/8 FPT to 3/8 hose barb and used that)
Also some people probably feel better using thread-locker, some probably don't. I did on the fuel filter housing threads

-Male Connector Piece (Doorman female 2 terminal tower PN 85390)
Purchased at Pep boys for around $10, im sure you can find it cheaper
online)
I realize you can just cut the connector end off the pump and so splices, but I chose to take this route in case I ever have to temporarily remove the pump, will be easy off and on.

-Various Electrical connector pieces (splice, ring terminal, shrink wrap, conduit if you want it to look professional)

- Relay

-Fuel Pump Block off plate for Big Block Chevy

Mounting bracket (i had to create one, so doubt pieces of steel from home depot meant for building decks

Came out with this

___PROCEDURE___

MOUNTING THE PUMP-

-Mount bracket to Passenger side front fender. I just used screws/fender washers/nuts, nothing fancy

-Attach Brass Fittings to the pump, and attach pump to bracket

http://s1086.photobucket.com/albums/j448/btponcini/?action=view&current=DSCN1033.jpg

ELECTRICAL INSTALLATION-

-Attach Doorman male connector to female connector on pump
(Product may be mislabeled, my male connector was labeled female)

First work the ground wire