(Successful) glow plug adventures today!

DrCharles

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I bought my '93 F250 nonturbo 7.3 with 186k miles less than a month ago, so I'm still learning about the IDI and everything that's been neglected or "repaired" badly on this truck. It had the run-five-seconds-then-die problem, which I fixed with a Facet 40285 electric lift pump. Starts great in warm weather now. However, when the temp dips to 40F or below, it was hard to start (some cylinders firing intermittently but a good 20-30 seconds of cranking to get 'er running). At 32F it took several prolonged attempts before it stopped "sneezing" and actually ran.

The glow plugs would come on for maybe five seconds, then start clicking. Turning the key off and back on would not start another cycle, just immediate clicking. After reading many worrisome threads about broken-off glow plug tips, with considerable trepidation I decided to attempt replacement today with genuine Motorcraft ZD-9 plugs.

Allegedly the glow plugs had been replaced within the last few years. Unfortunately they had installed Autolites. :shocked: But I got lucky and all eight came out easily. I first blew all the crud from the areas surrounding each glow plug, then applied generous amounts of ATF/acetone mixture from a refillable aerosol can. That's the best penetrating oil I have ever found - you just need to shake it up immediately before applying, since it tends to separate into two layers.

The trick to getting these unscrewed is to use a 1/4"-drive ratchet, extension, u-joint and a deep socket (3/8"). The 1/4-drive socket is shorter than the 3/8-drive and there's just enough room to get it over the plug that is under the injection lines on the driver's side. Moving the line clamp helped too.