Seat replacement questions

payableondeath6

Impressively Ugly
Reaction score
I just got the truck and I don't like the bench seat that came in it at all. It's not the factory seat, it's a bench out of something else. It has little support, the back is split like 50/50 for access to the rear seats and the seat belt retractor doesn't work like it should (guess not a seat issue but still frustrating)...so I'm on a mission for something else in there. I'm fairly new to all you guys, so let me start by saying that I do all of my projects on a budget, so I'm thinking I could probably swing $100 out of the wife and my tightly locked wallet, but probably no more. So I'm looking for something that's going to be more comfortable than these seats (heck, the base model seats from my 98 f150 were more comfortable), needs to be in good shape, has to still provide access to the rear seats, and I'd love to have something with a console...can be captains chairs, bench, etc as long as it fits the bill. With that said I've seen people mention they have put a number of seats in from Superduty's and heck even thought I saw a Thunderbird seat on here.

So first off since I can shop from my computer I checked out Craigslist and found a couple cheap seats (actually free with pickup) that I thought I'd ask about. They were both from Honda's, the first was a Civic came with rails and was in good shape, the second was a CRX came with rails and had a rip in the drivers side. So first question is would I be able to mount them in my truck without a welder or being a major PITA?

If not, anyone know of or have any cheap seat replacements that would fit what I'm looking for? Even a suggestion would help (don't know how much JY's usually ask out of seats from Superduty's or the like). Is mounting another seat (such as the Superduty) just a matter of drilling new holes in the floor and bolting in, or is there more?