Newbie with a little troubleshooting help needed

jrou111

Reaction score
Hey guys, I need some technical advice. I bought an 1988 F-350 flatbed last summer. It's been hard to start. I've put a new electric fuel pump on, and recently installed a new injection pump. I've primed it, and have fuel at the top of the injectors, but it will not fire. Not even on starting fluid. :confused:

The weird thing is, that when I'm running the starter, there is fuel vapor coming out the intake, and no vacuum. There is also no smoke or diesel vapor coming out the tailpipe. It seems as if it's turning the wrong direction, but looking at the crank pulley, it's turning clockwise.

The only thing that I've changed is the IP. When I was taking the old one off, I loosened the 4 bolts holding the top cover on the timing/oil case. Once I realized that I bolted them back in. I'd think that even if it did move the IP gear, it'd only be 1-2 teeth off and would still start.

Any ideas? I've plenty of experience with gassers, but this is my first diesel.

apextrans

What Log Book????
Reaction score
A while back I actually removed the timing gear before I knew it was indexed & everybody here told me that if I was a tooth or two off putting it back in, that could keep it from starting. If you only loosened the bolts on the cover though, I don't think the gear could have moved. It's pretty large & has some weight to it. If you really think you moved it, I have an article that will get it reset without having to remove the front cover to line up the timing marks.

How do the return lines look on the injectors?

apextrans

What Log Book????
Reaction score