IM NEW

tnerb

Reaction score
well i just bought a 84 f250 with a 6.9 and a ats turbo kit and a 4spd. bought to hall snowmobiles boat and my 93 toyota rock crawler that is currently a work in progress. im a total diesel newbie and dont know squat all about them. i know i want to do the 5spd swap at some point. anything i should know about these trucks?

anyways just saying hi

Last edited by a moderator:

flatlander

plays dirty when losing
Reaction score
Welcome. You found your source for the info you're looking for. Go through all the tech articles, then just browse as many old posts as you can stand. If you still need info, there are folks on here who have assembled and disassembled and have all the manuals. Just ask.

4x4TruckinGirl

"Cowgirl"
Reaction score
welcome to OB...... good place to be. Sounds like you found yourself adecent truck. You can add you're trucks info to you're signature which is under the "user cp" up at the top of the screen. That way people will know what you have going on when you ask questions n stuff. anyways, good luck!

Diesel JD

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I'm partial to the 4 speed and ATS setup. Will be a good tow/haul vehicle. The only real concern you have with that vintage truck is the head gaskets and the glow plug system. If your gaskets have ever been replaced you may not have to worry about that at all. The glow plug problem is best fixed by converting to a momentary toggle or upgrading to a 7.3 style solid state glow plug system.

tnerb

Reaction score
Head gasket done 2 years ago glow plugs just changed and are on a push type switch

Diesel JD

Full Access Member
Reaction score
+1, should give you years of strong service. Don't leave the glow plugs on longer than around 8 seconds if you want them to last.

sle2115

NRA LIFE MEMBER
Reaction score
welcome to OB...... good place to be.

Our new slogan!