I Need Help Troubleshooting the classic Air Intrusion Problem

jim x 3

1988 F-350 DRW
Reaction score

I have been fighting this issue on/off since Oct '13. After sitting 24 hours, truck starts immediately, runs for 1 second, then dies. Considerable cranking is required for restart. After this, truck starts immediately and runs without trouble all day long. Since I'm an electrician and not a plumber, maybe some of you guys who have suffered can give me some advice. To the best of my knowledge, the fuel system components are all stock - as when the truck was new.

I have:

1. Replaced all return banjos, O-rings, and return hose (Typ4) No visible fuel leaks
2. Replaced 5/16" Olives in filter head-IP steel line, both ends (Typ4) No visible fuel leaks
3. Checked Shrader valve for tightness, replaced cap
4. Replaced O-ring @ top of IP (@ check valve fitting)
5. Replaced hose @ top of IP (EL fitting to return steel line that runs back to "T" near cyl 8
6. Added a clear hose section to rubber line from #1 return banjo to filter head - overnight, air bubbles will cluster in the top portion of this hose until hose is completely empty of fuel. Very small bubbles are coming out of the filter head barbed fitting between vacuum switch and Shrader fitting.
7. Replaced the 3/8" olive in the lift pump-filter head steel line (Typ4) No visible fuel leaks
8. Removed and replaced fuel filter and rubber washer in water drain at bottom of filter. Filter was full of fuel when removed, but no fuel spilled down the filter element as I spun it off.
9. Removed and replaced the Shrader fitting and barbed fitting in the filter head, used Rectorseal on threads when replacing. Replaced the Shrader valve core and cap. (If the core is depressed with engine off, bubbles appear in the clear line rapidly and the line empties of fuel - 10 seconds to mimic the 24 hour problem). I thought there was supposed to be a check valve in the barbed fitting, but there was none. ID of that fiting is very small.