I could just call towcat......

dave85

Reaction score
but haven't posted here in a while.

My 87 is not the truck my 85 is. But I love it anyhow.

3:55's with c-6. Now, I,ve got a ladder rack and ladders on top and running 75-85 to the desert to work.
Only getting 13 mph. This truck blows smoke under less throttle and clatters more on cold crank up than the 85.

I know I'm loaded "un-aerodymacally" and just should be satisfied at that speed with that mileage but is there a timing issue? Air filter is new.

Have a lot of road time coming up, need to squeeze what I can.
Thanks,
dave

IDIeselman

Reaction score
Dave, I am no expert but it sure sounds like your timing is a bit advanced. loosen the three nuts on your injection pump and turn the pump to the right towards the driverside fender about a nickels width. tighten it up and go for a spin. you should see less smoke and less rattle with improved mileage. :thumbsup:

towcat

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
dave-
I'm still here :D Probably won't be going overseas until mid-January. I was hoping that I wouldn't have to make the trip until later, but my daughter has managed to bring her mother down to her level of thinking and is winning the fights. As a result, the phone bills have went through the roof from mediating them and I don't get much sleep either.
Bringing it back on track...I presume you are talking 13MPG not mph. If you are, I got the same with my '86 F250 4X4 when I made the trip out to Texas last november. It too is a 3.55 truck. I got a ladder rack and it had ladders on the top along with a very unareodynamic 33x12.5x16.5 spare straped to the overhead section of the rack. There's something about ladder racks that really kills off your mileage. By your confirmation, I feel a little better of my f250 now. Oh yea, outside of CA, my mpg went up to 14 and the power went up a little too(seat of the pants dyno). As you know the non-CA diesel sure makes a difference! -cuss :mad: -cuss :mad: