Found a motor home with a Mopar big block and I have some questions

Reaction score
I was in a motor home in a salvage yard and found a Mopar big block under the engine cover. It looks great and is complete. However I know very little about this sort of thing. I am new to the world of Mopar. I am hoping to go out there today with the camera but in the mean time can anyone tell me anything about them. I think the Motor home is a 72 and it looks like it has a 727 behind the engine. Getting it out looks like it will be quite an under taking. Considering I just want to put this engine on a stand in hopes I will get a project vehicle later for it what would be a good price for it? How can I tell if it is a 440 or a 413? If it is a 413 what are the pros and cons of running it? If I get it, it will most likely go in a big truck build later on. I have always wanted a classic Dodge truck or SUV sitting tall with big block power and shining like a new penny.

towcat

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
in 1972 your choices would be 383, 400, 440. the 413 went by the wayside back in the mid '60's. You're definitely bucking the trend on big-block gassers.
I'm sitting on a few ford 460's and chev 454's and a couple of Buick 455's that don't want to go find a new home. Current gas prices is killing the big block and I don't see it getting any better anytime soon. It's unfortunate, I'm prolly the last generation to know the feeling of visceral torque and acceleration generated by a gasser that equals or surpasses anything on today's market. many diesels included.:eek:
check out this link for casting number ID on your gem in the rough.......

http://www.yearone.com/updatedsinglepages/id_info/mopar/mopar casting numbers/castingnumbers.html

Reaction score
I miss the feeling of that 460's and 429's I have had in the past. I have had some late 70's Fords that would lift the front tires off the ground. Now I am trying to give Mopar a go. Thanks for the link.

chris142