ehaust brake info?

p0opstlnksal0t

TeH FatneSS
Reaction score
what exactly is an exhaust brake? how does it work? how does it benefit the truck?

im guessing it just puts back pressure on the exhaust, so the truck slow down more when you let off the gas? then you use the actual brakes less? is this mod only good when towing? or can it benefit a non tow rig as well?

thanks
trey

Sootscooter

Reaction score
Exhaust brakes work great, any time you want to stop. As long as you have them hooked up right. There are different types of brakes,and software available. As I am new to the IDI world, I dont know how effective they are on these trucks -SS

Last edited:

ajd257

Reaction score
I believe that they open the exhuast and close all air intake. I could be wrong but I cant imagine what closing off the exhaust would do to cylinder and head pressure.

rebel_horseman

Rt. Wing Extremist
Reaction score
An e-brake or "jake brake" is a flap that closes to restrict exhaust flow. The nature of a diesel makes it so that it has little engine braking capability especially when you factor in the turbo adn intercooler. So, manufacturers have a flap that operates in the exhaust stream to retard the engine. Somem work off of oil pressure (like the factory exhaust back pressure valve on the Stroke) and some off of a spring, etc.

They are mainly ideal for towing and that is where they are most notable. I've modified my EBPV so that I can control it as an exhaust brake and unloaded I don't see much help.

EMD Diesel Power

Misguided Trident
Reaction score
rebel_horseman said: