E4OD transmission question

93 f350cc 7.3 na

Reaction score
Can anyone recommend me to a site that sells QUALITY auto transmissions. I do not care if it is entirly new or remaunfactured, only that it does not mention lines like "rebuilt torque converter". I would like to keep the price under $2800.00 condsidering I am a broke college student. lol

If I can not find a tranny that fits the bill I will go with the local trans shop.

Another question I have is there a trans cooler that you would recommend putting on the truck that comes with new lines that do not leak. I want to put all new on the truck so that I do not go down on the road again and suffer another $1000.00 tow bill to get home.

Any feekback would greatly be appreciated

Aaron

topgunn

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I went through several trans before NOT listening to the trans rebuilders. I finally had a trans cooler and GAUGE installed. The temp went to 280, so back it went. The cooler in the radiator was blocked,so the oil didn"t even go through the trans cooler. Bypassed radiator, no problems. Cheap insurance to buy a gauge.

Headerpower

Reaction score
If you check out my post "Old Fords never die", I can tell you I worked the crap out of my truck, I have a Tru-cool 28000gvw cooler in series with the rad cooler, and even towing a GCVW or 13500 lbs up some of the longest steepest roads in North America, the hotest my tranny temp got was about 175*. AS posted above cheapest insurance you can get is a guage and a cooler.

If its a repair you are really looking for, I'd go with a local shop. Go talk to several before to commit to one, see what kind of a deal (warranty) you can get, and try to determine if they are knowledgable. Locals guy's have to live in the same town as you, so hopefully you find one with some ethics!

Double-S-Diesel

parts seller
Reaction score
most all TCs are rebuilt, even the tripple discs.