cummins isl 400 and waste oil

turfblazer

Reaction score
here is something i read from another post.
i believe cause someone doesn't know something they just haven't looked hard enough . got to keep digging !

I run over a dozen trucks ALL running on WMO/diesel. Some I mix and filter the fuel before it goes in and some I dump WMO straight in the tanks. I am a mobile diesel Mechanic I run 3 service trucks for that and have been doing it for about 15yrs. I also run 5 dump trucks in the summer,3 semi's over the road, and move lots of boats/machinery. I also have a friend who also has a mobile truck service business he also runs WMO.
We both have pickups with over 400,000 miles on WMO/diesel I couldn't tell you what ANY of our injectors look like because we have NEVER pulled one never needed to. I don't use a centrifuge my friend does. I just use 2 micron Davco 382"s. Between the 2 of us we have over 4 million miles on the trucks. Not one injector has ever went bad on our trucks.
On the other hand when ULSD and LSD came out we have seen at least a 500% increase from customers in the form of breakdowns due to injector or fuel system problems. 2 of my customers are corporate fuel companies that have asked us to set their trucks up like ours are so they can run WMO as we do. I have also learned that the Fuel distributors are SUPPOSED to test and add Lubricity additive to their loads of fuel as needed. As far as I know (and have been told by their drivers) EVERY load of ULSD and LSD should have additive added yet the same skid of additive has sat in the shop for 3 yrs untouched. That leads me to believe no one is adding it as they should. It goes straight from the rack to us the customers with it KNOWN that it will hurt our engines.