Cruise control install

Daniel McCurdy

Full Access Member
Joined
May 8, 2020
Posts
142
Reaction score
13
Location
Evarts KY
I'm installing cruise control in my 1993 f350 and of course the only control panel I could find the wires were cut from the connector so I need to know what wires go where.
 

79jasper

Chickenhawk
Joined
Oct 13, 2012
Posts
17,366
Reaction score
1,911
Location
Collinsville, Oklahoma
Well, first I have to ask, does your steering wheel have the connector for it? It's possible someone just swapped that inner pad. (As in the column may not be setup for it)

Sent from my SM-G988U using Tapatalk
 

Daniel McCurdy

Full Access Member
Joined
May 8, 2020
Posts
142
Reaction score
13
Location
Evarts KY
The steering wheel has a plug on it. The cruise horn I got was the only one the local junkyard had so I got it to see if I can make it work.
 

Daniel McCurdy

Full Access Member
Joined
May 8, 2020
Posts
142
Reaction score
13
Location
Evarts KY
So I took a good guess and it seems I got them wired correctly but the cruise control is still not working. There is no voltage between pin 9 and 10. And it's not getting the 0-5 volts between pins 3 and 10. All this was tested with the connector unpluged. So if anybody knows how to go about fixing this I would like to know.
 

franklin2

Full Access Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2009
Posts
4,367
Reaction score
763
Location
Va
Are you working with a diagram? I don't have one that has a 1993 cruise system on it. If you have a diagram could you attach it to a post? 1993 was the first year for a electronic speedometer wasn't it?
 

franklin2

Full Access Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2009
Posts
4,367
Reaction score
763
Location
Va
Hey, look what I found.
 

Attachments

  • WD_Ford_183914.pdf
    25 KB · Views: 5
  • WD_Ford_183915.pdf
    25.4 KB · Views: 5

franklin2

Full Access Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2009
Posts
4,367
Reaction score
763
Location
Va
Looks like pin 9 should have 12v on it at all times except when the brake pedal is pressed. Looks like the switch is a pressure switch on the master cylinder. I wonder if this is the one that caught everyone's garage on fire and was part of the big recall? I am not sure of it's purpose, they are still using the electrical brake light switch to cut the cruise off also.
 

Daniel McCurdy

Full Access Member
Joined
May 8, 2020
Posts
142
Reaction score
13
Location
Evarts KY
The truck never had cruise on it so there is no pressure switch but the plug is there. I tried hooking the wires together as that was something I seen people do but it didn't effect anything at all. So I'm not real sure what the problem is maybe if I ran a jumper wire to plug 9 and tested if it works that could be a starting point. Also the 4-5 volts to pin 3 and 10 are not there so there's that too.
 

bilbo

Full Access Member
Joined
Nov 30, 2020
Posts
163
Reaction score
96
Location
North Dakota
That horn pad looks like mine. My wheel has no clockspring, just brushes. Thinking back to when I added cruise to my 94, there was a fuse under the hood that I needed to put in and maybe a relay? Not sure if I had to do anything on the fuse panel in the cab. I ended up buying the brake pressure switch, plugging it in, and leaving it hang there until I could get a new MC with the port for it. It worked fine that way for testing as the switch cancels cruise when seeing high pressure. I don't know which wires would need to be jumpered to mimic the pressure switch.

My horn pad came with the plug. If I have time I can try and get a picture for you of the wiring and plugs this evening if you think it'll help.
 

franklin2

Full Access Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2009
Posts
4,367
Reaction score
763
Location
Va
The truck never had cruise on it so there is no pressure switch but the plug is there. I tried hooking the wires together as that was something I seen people do but it didn't effect anything at all. So I'm not real sure what the problem is maybe if I ran a jumper wire to plug 9 and tested if it works that could be a starting point. Also the 4-5 volts to pin 3 and 10 are not there so there's that too.
If you want to take care of pin #9, you need to tie it to pin #7. That will put 12v on pin #9 anytime the keyswitch is on, and that should take care of that. Just carefully road test it to make sure it drops out when the brake pedal is pushed.
 
Top