95 PSD cranks, no start, no smoke

jdawg9742

Reaction score
I have a 95 7.3 PSD with 230,000 miles. I have replaced a cps(twice), batteries and a fuel filter. I have even tried running the r=truck on both tanks. The pickup will run good for 2-15 minutes than stutter and shake violently. Than it will stall out, and sometimes i can get it to fire back up but wont make it two feet and do it again. After the second time(if theres a second start) i will crank on it and it will not start. I have no smoke issues at all and ive even tried unplugging the icp sensor but still no start. I would try to drive it to autozone for them to get my codes but it wont even make it. Theres also no check engine light coming on. Please help me out im a college student and need this to get to school.

jdawg9742

Reaction score
I also checked all fuses maxifuses inluded and could find no problems there, and my wts light comes on too so i dought its a pcm

79jasper

Chickenhawk
Reaction score
Autozone code scanner wouldn't be any help. Won't read these trucks.
Check to see if it's filling the fuel bowl.
Definitely sounds fuel related.
Could be the tank pickups are broken off. Causing it to suck air and/or pieces of the pickups stuck in the selector valve.
Selector valves to go bad.
Disconnect the lines in front of the valve and run to a clean jug of fuel v

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

jdawg9742

Reaction score
well its filling up the bowl but for some reason the engine dosent want to fire up right now. it cranks but thats all i can get out of it. and now when i crank it the truck is shaking worse than it ever has but still no white smoke

79jasper

Chickenhawk
Reaction score
Still could be the fuel pump.
Try wiggling the IPR. Common for the nut to come loose.

79jasper

Chickenhawk
Reaction score
It's the injector pressure regulator.
Look in between the HPOP and fuel bowl. Slightly to the drivers side.
It's deep in there.
You must be registered for see images attach