89 f250 tranny/rear end dealer options?

jam sandwich

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Well After buying my truck I have a buddy repairing some odds and ends for me, and he's told me after looking over the truck, that it has a DANA 60 rear end and a different trans (not a zf5) and that the truck has a tow package installed (beefier rear springs)
I'm a ford noob so forgive my ignorance..
Basically this means the truck is running 60mph @ 2700 rpms or so cookoo.
As this truck is a second car for a daily driver, this wasn't the best news to receive (I commute on the hwy every day for work)
Has anyone ever heard of or seen f250's with a dana 60 rear end from the factory?
Better question is, what IS the FD on the rear end I have? 4:10? 5:10? 1st gear is literally useless. You can start off in 3rd gear from a dead stop LOL

I'll likely drive this truck while my other car is down, then sell it for (hopefully) another diesel with some longer gears..

Last edited:

snicklas

6.0 and Loving It!!
Staff member
Reaction score
First, Post the axle codes from the door sticker. Are there any id tags on the rear end?

In 89 with a tow package. My guess would be if it is an automatic it would be an E4OD, or a ZF-5 if it is a manual. It may have a Dana 70 rear axle, and would probally be a 4.10 gearset. This is all a guess as of now.....

However, if someone did some customizing to it..... it may have a Dana 70 out of and F-Superduty which is a 5.38 or somthing like that...... Those are a ~60mph truck on the govenor...... A Dana 70 "normally" has a large 70 on front of the diff housing..... need to do some digging into this one.....

jam sandwich

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Alright, I'll see what info i can dig up.
the truck is a 5spd
My buddy says the transmission is an m5OD and the rear end is definetely a dana60.

Do I have any simple options to reduce the gear ratio? IE ring and pinion set?
I doubt swapping rear ends would be an easy task..