7.3 idi tps strange issues

travisjulian

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Ok. Bought new tps for tye truck. Check wiring and plug perfect condition no issues. Install new tps. Checked the range and it was at .800 v at idle. So I lossend bolts turned and hoghest it went was .869. So I took of and tur ed to where it would ve able to twist higher. Then put on check reading. Maxed out. Checked new tps tye range was correct. Went from .2 to 5 v. Is it possible that the throttle piece it goes over could have shifted and that would be why I can set it right. It is the only thing that makes sense. I adjusted idle to proper spec. Idles great but reading dropped at idle to .400. Only thing that hold me from adjusing it is a set screw and atorque ring. Im a diesel mechanic work on semi's 50 hrs a week. This truck has done nothing but challenge me from day 1. Some input would be great.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using Tapatalk

icanfixall

Official GMM hand model
Reaction score
To check the operation of a bad tps you need a special scanner tool that watches the range from idle to wide open throttle for drop outs. This means the wire on the board has worn thru and the signal drops out causing the trans computer to fail. So just because a digital voltmeter tells you it looks good they usually are shot with 50,000 or more miles on them. Every time to change the throttle the contacts rub the wires and they fail. Now for your issues. Please look at the tps you removed. See the rust or the wear areas in the drive end. Thats how the new tps must be installed. Usually you have to wind them on the shaft till they fit the screw holes. Usually there is some spring pressure on the tps when it wound on the drive tab ob the end of the throttle shaft.

travisjulian

Full Access Member
Reaction score