6.9 turbo diesel help!

Hardy41

Reaction score
How's it going guys. I am new to the form but, I know all you guys can help. I have a chance to buy a 85 6.9 turbo diesel C6 and transfer case cheap!! $500. The only thing is that the motor has been sitting around for around 3 years. I plan on putting the motor in my 86 F-250 and replacing my tired 6.9 that is leaking oil like crazy. I think from the valley pan. My question is what should I do to the new motor before I install it in my truck? Also, what things should look out for in the new motor. Thanks you guys. And another thing, the turbo is a banks sidewinder kit.

riotwarrior

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
How's it going guys. I am new to the form but, I know all you guys can help. I have a chance to buy a 85 6.9 turbo diesel C6 and transfer case cheap!! $500. The only thing is that the motor has been sitting around for around 3 years.

First welcome to Oil Burners, best site for these ole trucks bar none. Take some time to look around in the FAQ and Tech section, and before buying any parts please look in the HALL OF SHAME, this should help alleviate any questionable purchase deals from retailers.

Your description is a little vague in you don't provide details on why the engine was pulled, how many miles where on it and how has it been stored for this time?

I'd be very very cautious about a purchase of a stored engine.
1st BAR it over at least 4 complete revolutions by hand to make sure there is no binding in any of the 4 cycles of the engine! If it does not bar over well...it's core material at best.

I plan on putting the motor in my 86 F-250 and replacing my tired 6.9 that is leaking oil like crazy. I think from the valley pan.
Sounds like you've got some experience with these trucks, good then we can easily help you along. Have you cleaned the engine off at a steam/pressure cleaner by chance to help determine where leak is and also to make sure it's nicer to work on?