6.9 into OBS Ford

FordDZLMan9191

Diesel addict
Reaction score
Hello. I just joined here and had a question for you guys. I'm relatively new to owning a diesel but I've been reading and learning as much as I could since I was about 13-14. But we can talk about me later.

My question is has anyone here swapped a 6.9L into a 92-97 F-250 or F-350? Whether it started life as a gasser or originally had a diesel under the hood, I'm looking for info on this swap. I have an 85 F-250 6.9, 4 speed, 4x4 that runs great, the the drivetrain is in really good shape but the rest of the truck has a bunch of little nickel and dime things that need fixed. I'm thinking that if I can pick up a truck that has a blown motor and just swap my 6.9 in. Obviously starting with a truck that was originally a diesel is going to be easier. I would guess that the ideal truck for this would be a 92-94 that had a 7.3 and ZF5 in it and that with the proper flywheel, clutch, and such, my motor would just bolt in.

Now for a gasser, I'd like to find a 460/ZF5 truck and I could swap out the gauge cluster with a diesel one, pick up 7.3 idi motor mounts and then the same flywheel, clutch setup. I've asked on another forum and got told that I could use the factory gasser tanks, remove the mechanical lift pump(from my motor) and add an adjustable fuel pressure gauge.

Something else that crossed my mind is the OBD-II electronics on the 96 and newer vehicles. Is this something that would cause trouble for my swap and make me want to find a slightly older truck? I have found a 97 F350 with a blown 460 and no tranny(I don't know if it was an auto or manual). I want to stay with a manual just for the relative ease and cheapness of the T-19 to ZF5 swap which I have already researched because I had originally wanted to swap in a 5 speed after buying my current truck.

Sorry for the long-ish post. I would like to say thanks in advance for any input.

icanfixall

Official GMM hand model
Reaction score