6.9 cranking but no start

dreed86

Reaction score
Hey everyone,

I'm new to diesel engines and I recently bought an 1986 f250 with a 6.9 idi non turbo from an old farmer. My father had one of these when I was younger. The man said he had last had the engine running 2 years ago but was too old to figure out what was wrong with the truck. Didn't care to try anymore. So he says. Anyways I had the truck towed home. Where it sits now.

I was under the impression that diesel engines needed 1. Heat 2. Fuel and air to essentially run. I picked up some new batteries installed them. Went inside the truck turned the key expecting to hear the wait to start buzzer, but it never came. Did do some research after that and thought I should check the glow plugs. Used a test light from positive to each glow plug all 8 seemed to work. More research pointed to possibly the glow plug controller having failed. Now this is where I start noticing the harness looks all jacked up. Traced the lines back to the glow plug relay and realized someone used speaker wire to attempt to bypass the controller. On the glow plug relay the speaker wire went from the switch along the firewall down to the floors boards. Where a momentary switch was installed above the bright lights. Tested the switch found it had failed to. Went to the store picked up new wire and a new switch. Installed them. Looks much better on the dash to the left of the steering wheel. Anyways still don't get any power across the relay switch with ignition turned on and button pressed.

I've also checked to see if I'm getting fuel to the injectors. Loosened the fuel line and got fuel out of the the furthest fuel line.

I did completely removed the old glow plug harness and I'm the middle of repairing it.

I was hoping someone could pass some advise as to what else I could do. Oh and FYI the truck does crank gets to about 500 rpms. Just doesn't start yet. Thanks again

CDX825

filtration nut
Reaction score