WMO= more power? Whats going on here?

dansvan

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Ok here's my story. 1985 6.9 Runs like a top. Has a 7.3 pump on it set at 8 degrees. ATS turbo kit. I've been running WMO in the front tank for a few months now. Occasionally I get a surge of power. Initially they were short, but lately they can be found at certain throttle positions most all the time. The boost goes up, the heat goes up, the van goes faster. Alot faster. But never with straight diesel from the second tank. I do not know the condition of the inj. pump. It was used. Is there something internally that can be changing from running the WMO? I was thinking air leaks, but this is smooth power delivery, and wouldn't air make you slow down? the truck is no slouch to begin with, but wow it scoots when it "hits?"

Exekiel69

Reaction score
Can't tell unless I see it and maybe You thought about this too but sounds like the system has no fuel and it usually surges raising rpms to make the lift pump bring some fuel. It also shows the fuel filter light once it starts creating a vacuum between the filter and the IP.

subway

be nice to the admin :D
Reaction score
not sure what causes it but i get it to at low to mid rpm and the filter light is not coming on. it starts petering out around 3-4 shift though to normal. i want to add a fuel pressure gage to see if that is related as i suspect.

forcefed

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I've had the same issue a couple of times. I wish it would keep it up though. I noticed it when I sat and idles for awhile them when I took off at about 1700 rpms it would feel like someone pushed the nitrous button. It would actually set you back in your seat. I also noticed a bunch of smoke and egts sky rocketed. Not sure what causes it but hasn't happened since it been in the 80's and 90's. Just happened a couple of times when it was around 50 and 60 degrees outside. :dunno

tierhog

Reaction score