Scored a 5.9 with a hole in it.

Classicfordguy

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Well I watched this engine for 2 months on craigslist listed as a cummINGs engine. Finally went and bought it for $500. Supposedly it only had 150k on it but that could be complete crap. Either way its supposed to be a 95 with a p pump.

There is a giant hole in the pass side of the block, looks like it threw the back rod.

My hope is to build up a good 12 valve to swap into the 94 f250 in my sig. I'm very new to cummins engines, is there anything you guys can tell me about it, good deal, bad deal? Is the 95 a good year or were 96-98 better?

My line of thinking now is maybe I can find a good block and use some of the parts off this thing to build up a fresh powerful motor for my truck in the future. Tell me what you guys think, good idea or complete crap?

Thanks,

-Rob

Attachments

• CIMG1523.JPG
    CIMG1523.JPG
    143 KB · Views: 16
  • CIMG1524.JPG
    CIMG1524.JPG
    149.7 KB · Views: 18
  • CIMG1525.JPG
    CIMG1525.JPG
    157.9 KB · Views: 17
  • CIMG1527.JPG
    CIMG1527.JPG
    180 KB · Views: 23
  • CIMG1528.JPG
    CIMG1528.JPG
    117.8 KB · Views: 19

averagef250

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I think you did fine for the accesories and turbo on the engine.

The downside is why did it throw a rod? These engines have an extremely stout lower end. The crank bearings typically don't show wear under heavy pickup use and poor maintenance until 500K+ miles. In medium duty 26K pound chassis use where the engine is at constant 100% load the bearings will typically show wear around 150K-200K.