new truck!

noahz

92 F250 idi
Reaction score
I got a 92 F250 with 170k on it. shes black on black. 35" mudders 2"lift
7.3L IDI motor. are these good engines?
tell me what you think. or maybe what to look out for/ check.

thanks a ton.

jcarr

Full Access Member
Reaction score
noahz glad to see another tulsan on here. the idi motors are great engines but require a little extra work here and there i have found. i have a 92 F350 and lovin it. we got another OB.NET member in wagoner oldmisterbill.

PM me sometime and i'll get you my number and you can call if you need help or just want to get together a shoot the idi bull. :bs

oh and welcome :Thumbs Up

jcarr

Full Access Member
Reaction score
i tried to be first to welcome ya but MLSC beat me to the punch while i was typing.

noahz

92 F250 idi
Reaction score
Alright. Well thanks guys. im new to diesels in general. so i could use all the help and advice i can get!

noahz

92 F250 idi
Reaction score
But one thing that kind of concerns me is that i rarely get any black smoke. and when i do get smoke at all, its pretty much grey. Is this bad? If so, what can i do to fix this? i was also wondering about any cheap mods. I got strait pipes on it. and am putting cold air on in the near future. Anything else come to mind?

icanfixall

Official GMM hand model
Reaction score
Thats what keeps most of us here.. The helping of others learn what it takes yo stay on the road... No need to take your truck to the dealership and have them tell you... Yes, you have a problem and that will be $80.00 for the diagnois... Gees.. Didn"t I know I had a problem BEFORE I took it in??? Really... Most all the dealerships don't have the people with any expertise like we have here..... And were free....:sly Welcome to about the finest Ford idi site anywhere. Enjoy the reading...

nyteshades

Full Access Member
Reaction score