Looking for Some Sage Wisdom, 85 F250, 6.9IDI

Austin Centurion

Reaction score
Hello, I'm new to this part of the interwebs, but was really hoping to get some sage wisdom from some of you folks.

I just purchased a 1985 Ford F-250 Super Cab, Long Bed, 6.9 IDI, T19 Trans, Dana 70 LSD rear with 4.10 gears. It has the door tag and some of the bits from Centurion-Lehman (The retro CB radio console on the roof), but I can't find much details on that, except for some pictures of their old marketing flyers from the 80s.

The truck didn't run when I bought it, but I felt like for $1000, it was a decent deal to give myself a project (I've been getting the work-from-home idle hands cabin fever lately). There is rust in all the usual places (cab corners, fenders, and some under the bed). But I've always wanted to learn how to weld, and patch panels are available for cheap.

I did a good once over today, and made some preliminary purchases to get going. Ordered a Powermaster Ultra Duty starter, part #9050, new MC starter solenoid, New/Upgraded battery cables from CustomBatteryCables.com (A high school friend had an 84 that caught fire due to some old battery cables, learning from that incident), new MC ZD1A glow plugs (I did my research to make sure I got the popular recommendation), MC thermostat, Delphi mechanical lift pump, MC fuel filter, 4gal of MC VC5 antifreeze, distilled water, Fleetguard DCA4, rad hoses, and rad cap. Also ordered a fuel injector install kit, but can't afford new injectors right now. Also grabbed 2 new Group 27 batteries during a Costco run today. Basically maxed out the card for right now, so it'll be slow going from here. Also got 2.5gal of Shell Rotella T6 and a Purolator filter from Walmart and AAP. I have a 5gal jug on standby with some Diesel Kleen mixed in. (Also ordered a Haynes manual, to help with everything not related to the IDI)