Just bought my first Diesel

condor74

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I am new to the site and today I just bought my first diesel truck. I am not completely Diesel ignorant though...I am a diesel technician at a Dodge dealership. The truck I bought is a 1990 F-250 with a 7.3 automatic 4x4 Super Cab. Unfortunately almost all my experience is with the Cummins motor that Dodge uses...

Here is my questions...Is there anything I need to know specifically relating to these engine and trucks? Anything that I really need to watch out for??

I have had the truck so far for less than 5 hours...here is what I know about it. It starts easily and runs smooth..The starter engages a little rough. Trans seems to shift a little hard and shift timing is different than what I am used to. Power seems good...actually alot better than I expected...I wasnt expecting much knowing it is not a turbo diesel. Thanks ahead of time for any advise.

Last edited:

pybyr

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Congratulations on the new-to-you truck. Read the Tech Articles and FAQ's, especially the one on 'cavitation' which you need to look out for on these more than the Dodge/Cummins engines.

Sycostang67

Scooty Puff Junior
Reaction score
You work on cummins motors but bought an IDI...what posessed you to do such a thing? Oh, and welcome to the site.

condor74

Full Access Member
Reaction score
well I am mechanic at a Dodge dealership. Prices of Cummins equipped anything are through the roof. I was in the market for a pickup and this one kinda fell in my lap. I got it extremely cheep. Honestly before I was forced to become the Diesel technician at my work I really didn't like diesels at all...well that was several years ago and I learned to appreciate them. My original specialty was gasoline drive-ability. Now I do about equal parts diesel to gas. ........