Fuel mileage

sgs

Reaction score
I have been driving diesel pickups since 1995 both juiced and stock. I trade often. I have had both GM and Ford. My current truck is a 2006 F350 with all of the Banks stuff on it. It seems that with each new truck I get the fuel mileage continues to escalate downward. I don't believe this is a brand issue but a pollution standard issue. I am contemplating starting with an older truck and building and installing a 6 or probably 4BT juiced, pre emission engine. I don't drive fast and don't mind if I slow a little in the hills. My goal is to get 16 mpg pulling my horse trailer at 65 mph total gross weight #20,000. Has anyone played with different combinations for fuel mileage?

bikepilot

Turbo IDI
Reaction score
I agree that emmisions standards don't generally help the fuel mileage issue, but trucks have also doubled in hp over the last decade and a half. I'm sure that cost a bit of mileage too.

my dad's 83 Chevy Sub consistently got 27.5mpg on the highway (3/4 ton, 4x4, all stock). IIRC it generally stayed around 18-22 towing, but our towing was never a huge amount of weight - a small 2-horse trailer with one quarter horse in it plus gear.

I know my stock 94 IDI turbo will not do 16 with that kind of weight. I suspect your best bet would be a fairly late model dodge for fuel mileage - from what little I've read the CDR motor does better towing than the 12v which wasn't bad at all.

best of luck

oh, if you figure out how to get that kind of mileage towing let me know:)

sgs

Reaction score
Thanks for the reply,
I also agree about the horsepower. My logic for thinking about a 4BT is as follows, If a class 8 truck can pull 80,000# all over the country with a 12 litre engine at highway speeds, why does it take 6 litre in a pick up to pull 20,000#? If you do the math backwards you come up with 3 litres.