Cracked Exhaust manifold?

Mogcrazy

Reaction score
Just bought a 99 24valve truck with some upgrades and I noticed the exhaust manifold has two hairline cracks in it. I thought no big deal I'll just buy a new one, but when I checked online the only manifolds I could find were close to the $500 range:eek: I'm relatively new to the dodge diesels, but is there a better place to find a cheaper exhaust manifold or should I just expect to pay half a grand any where I go?

Thanks
Mogcrazy

redneck pride

Full Access Member
Reaction score
check with ats on the manifold they might be cheaper and they are a 3 piece unit so that it wont crack again, Id be checkn that turbo and make sure nottin happined to that also, whoever had it must a had some high egt's coming out of it

Mogcrazy

Reaction score
Thanks for the advice, would a water/**** system help out this problem if I went with a stock manifold again? Seems like this cracking is a pretty common problem. Also what EGT temp is the one too look out for I heard you don't want to go over 12000 deg.

Thanks again

argve

Resident Fruitcake
Reaction score
you are lucky it cracked and didn't lift the head off the block - that is what causes a lot of headgasket failures... the stock exhaust manifold is so large that as it expands and contracts because of the heat cycles it has a nasty habit of either lifting the head off the block or if you are lucky it just cracks and creates a place to it move around. It lifted mine off, on a buddies truck (99-24v) we caught it in time because the front bolts on the exhaust manifold were tweeked something fierce and it had cracked the manifold.... pick up a multi-piece manifold and don't look back - it's the safest way to go.

redneck pride

Full Access Member
Reaction score