cost of E4OD rebuild

F350crew

Reaction score
I have a '93 F350 7.3 aftermarket banks turbo, 4x4 crew truck with E4OD trans. 155K miles on the truck. I am not a mechanic and the transmission needs rebuilt. The Seattle area Transmission shop I took it too says about $4500 for a heavy towing transmission rebuild (shift kit, triple clutch torque converter, new trans cooler). Does this sound about right for a rebuild? Any suggestions on Seattle area shops for a second opinion. Seems crazy to pay 2/3 the cost of what I paid for the truck for a transmission ($6500 7 years. ago). But not to many 7.3 crewcab trucks for under 15K in my area.

Cubey

Van dweller
Reaction score
Shops who quote insane prices often don't want to do the job and hope you will go somewhere else, but will gladly take your money if you want to pay 2-3x as much for them to do it.

I used "Affordable Transmissions" in Tacoma years ago for a 3spd Geo Metro rebuild. It's a very small shop that's gritty and no frills (at an old former gas/service station). They accidentally caused an invisible crack in the bell housing that leaked badly right away, but they did eat the cost of replacing the bell housing since it was well within warranty (within one week of me getting it back). It had to sit at their shop a while when they kept trying to find the leak before giving up ad replacing the bell housing. I paid $1300 for the rebuilt, so they probably lost out on that job with the extra work (several rebuilds trying to find/stop the leak) and bell housing replacement at their expense. Good customer service though and they did a good job in the end. It was just one of those things that can happen, and why warranty is a thing.

Oh and it was towed for free to their shop because, at the time at least, dunno about now.. they offered free towing with rebuild. So they ate the cost of that too.

Last edited:

Cubey

Van dweller
Reaction score