Bmw 2.4L diesel performance help

dieselgiant

Dieselgiant
Reaction score
My grandfather has a 1986 Vixen 21 (Google it) with a bmw 2.4L turbo diesel pusher motor and it needs a lot more power going;burnout down the road. Any ideas that are cheap like pump tuning or advancing the timing. The turbo is wast gated and adjustable and it has a boost gauge. I have the service manuals for the whole vehicle including a very detailed engine repair manual, and I am a decent mechanic. Most thing I'm looking for is how to turn up the fuel and how high a boost this thing can handle. Thanks.

ameristar1

The One Blue Thing
Reaction score
That BMW diesel is not a bad unit, but I think the euro guys and gals might be better at tuning them. Do you know if it has a rotary or inline style pump?

ameristar1

The One Blue Thing
Reaction score
What are the stock boost settings for the motor? If the motor is not intercooled, an intercooler should get put into the system or a water/**** injection system to keep the egt's in check. Also, do the timing belt if it hasn't been done. No sense enjoying the extra power and then destroy the head.
Anyways, the concern I see is that this small motor is pulling all this weight. I'd keep the timing near stock, and make the power with more fuel and air. I'd look into a modern turbo since turbo technology has progressed a lot in 23 years, and as h2ox has said, uncork the thing completely.
Good thing this thing can rev to 5500rpms, you'll have a nice wide powerband. But don't just do the pump mods because the turbo may not be able to keep up, and get pushed out of its sweet spot and heat up the air.
Look on Youtube for this guy "stupidbychoice". He has a BMW 524td that he modded, has 192hp and 395nM torque. PM him and see if he is willing to divulge the details.

Last edited:

dieselgiant

Dieselgiant
Reaction score