Any advice for somebody new to diesels starting a WVO conversion?

basilbowman

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Hi - I'm Nathan, from Kentucky, though I'm studying forestry and geology in TN (Shadetreemechanic is in the department at the university I study at - he turned me onto here as a decent crew of atypically helpful folks).
My dad's been on me to get a grease car (He's running a two tank SVO Mercedes and wants to offload some spare grease to me) so I finally bit the bullet and picked up a 92 F250 7.3L. Now - I've been under/on top of/inside of plenty of cars (apparently I'm incapable of passing up a deal that's too good to be true) but I'm pretty new to diesels. I understand how they run, how conversions involve additional heaters and closing the fuel return loop on the grease tank and I think I've got a decent start towards getting going on my conversion - but this is all just based on two or three days of frantic forum scavenging.
What are the questions I don't know enough to ask about doing this conversion? I've got my dad who's done a Mercedes and the guy I know that did a F350 just took off out of the country for two weeks - so I'm up for all the resources I can get. Forums are good, but long boring documents are actually better, I can get a feel for the assumptions that go by a lot in forums. I've hung out and read all the "New to WVO? Read this list of four thousand stickies!" that I can find, but I still would like as much as I can get. There's a good chance I'll be coming to you guys with stupid questions so bear with me - but I hope I'll get better.