96' 12 valve Cranking wheel then stalling

12 valve owner

12valveowner
Reaction score
My Question is when cranking my steering wheel all the way to the left or right while the truck is in idle the motor dies. I do now that my steering pump has a leak but I was able to stop it with Lucas steering fluid. It has a problem idiling in cold weather, So I need to sit in the truck and give it a little gas to keep it running. I dont know if this problem can be related to the steering stalling. I was told that it could be a fuel delivery problem, since I added #10 FUEL PLATE I know require more fuel, and with the low sulfur diesel, and since I havent been running a diesel additive my lift pump or injector pump could be going bad. Im not a diesel mechanic. I also wonder what diesel additive you guys would recommend for a 96 12 valve cummins with 170,000 miles. Have you ever heard of anyone using a half bottle of ATF fluid to a tank of gas for a additive?

Last edited:

smokin69

Always smokin'
Reaction score
I have tried ATF and it works fine, but I don't use it anymore after I almost got my tank dipped and I would have gotten a ticket because the fuel was red(offroad diesel is too). I now run Howes.

rubberfish

Reaction score
It's not uncommon. There are many of us that pick
the idle up a bit in winter. 50 - 100 rpm is usually
enough. Then drop it back down again in the spring.

ATF is a good cleaner but too abrasive
for day to day use, and it won't help with
you idle in the cold winter months.

Oh, and welcome to the site. :)

NoGin_Cummins

Typical Dodge Owner
Reaction score