84 f-250 Xtra cab

promustangman

Reaction score
I am new to diesels this will be my first diesel truck.
84 6.9 f-250 extra cab I am getting it for $200 there is oil coming out of the overflow tube of the radiator fresh black oil , Milky in the radiator and the oil on the dipstick looks fine. From what I have been reading it looks like i need to check out the oil cooler first and go from there??
Thanks Guys

William

fx4wannabe

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Man for $200 that sounds like a good find. Even if you have to out a motor in it you will be in it good.

promustangman

Reaction score
Man for $200 that sounds like a good find. Even if you have to out a motor in it you will be in it good.

They only thing better would have been a crew cab dually !! In my opinion.
Body is straight I was surprised how good of shape this thing is for a 24yr old truck i saw 2 little dings one in the chrome moulding above the drivers side rear wheel well the other about 12 inches ahead of that just enough to say there was a ding LOL!!!
Might Take possession of it this weekend and dig into it .
Where do you guys get those o rings for the oil cooler ?? I checked
Autozone napa and Kragens Website I see the gaskets but not the o rings..

Thanks
William

Camarogenius

Reaction score
My parts motor is a 6.9. One of the first year or two of production. The oil cooler has the filter at the rear instead of at the front.

The Warden

MiB Impersonator
Supporting Member
Reaction score
hm never run into that yet
The truck's an '84...the '83 and early '84 trucks used a different oil cooler. Externally, it looks similar, but the internals are different...it actually uses 6 O-rings, and 4 of them (the inner rings) are narrower and smaller, and they go into the end caps instead of on the bundle.