1994 tach sensor issue again

Thehands

Reaction score
Anyone know where would be a good spot to check for damaged wires I've replaced my tach sensor 3 times and just checked it on my other 1994 idit and it works great. On my daily it sits at zero on start up, jumps up to 400rpm after it gets revved runs great but obviously problems with tach so trans shifts way late. I've wiggled the wires around the tach but nothing changed it to the needed 650-750rpm at idle. I am new to diesels and 7.3 idits thanks
E40d transmission.

Nero

HD Diesel nut
Reaction score
Might be the gauge itself. My in laws 93 does the same thing, but trans shifts fine cold. At zero cold, but when warmed up a little works fine.

Nero

HD Diesel nut
Reaction score
I'd try a wrecking yard one first. Last time I bought one was $20 for just the speedo gauge uninstalled from the cluster. I don't know how to test them.
Your mileage will change, and the coding for your wheel size will also change. You can recode the wheel size, but mileage will be whatever the new gauge has on it.
Unless you're feeling adventurous and desolder the EEPROM chip from one to the other.... I've done that once, wasn't too hard.

Fixnstuff

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I'd try a wrecking yard one first. Last time I bought one was $20 for just the speedo gauge uninstalled from the cluster. I don't know how to test them.
Your mileage will change, and the coding for your wheel size will also change. You can recode the wheel size, but mileage will be whatever the new gauge has on it.
Unless you're feeling adventurous and desolder the EEPROM chip from one to the other.... I've done that once, wasn't too hard.
His issue is with the tachometer, not the speedometer so he can disregard those speedometer related instructions,
...and to the original poster: