1987 6.9L Resurrection Advice

Cabystander

Reaction score
I have a 1987 4x4 F250 6.9L NA with about 170K miles. Four speed manual. Bought it new. Love it, but it is in need of TLC. I am an old fort, thinking I want to do some RV'ing before I wear out completely. Looking at the price of new/near new tow vehicles of this class, I can spend some bucks on the "old" F250--which has been a loyal and dependable friend its entire life. I have no real fears about long trips once I get some of the age and wear and tear related problems dealt with and dealt with correctly. I have a finicky girl (in a manner of speaking) friend that I have to convince, if she is to go with me.

I am not a professional mechanic, but have done a lot of shade tree work through the years. Just not on diesels. I prefer to do whatever I can myself--that way I know what was done and who to blame. The old girl (the truck) is dinged up a bit, so am I. We sort of belong together.

I don't have unlimited funds, but I think doing it once, right, is within my budget. Body needs some TLC and paint is a mess. Original.

Right now, it doesn't start at all. Most likely, lift pump is defunct. IP solenoid clicks, but no fuel at loosened injector. Clutch hydraulics and, probably, brake hydraulics need replacement. So long as I don't get into replacing the IP, none of this worries me at all.

Here are my questions:

I have had problems with clutches since the get go. Maybe because I usually start in second, unless pulling a load? Transmission synchros are worn, but the tranny is usable. Clutch is showing signs of going, once again. I think this will be clutch #4. All previous done by stealership. Question: Should I go with stock clutch, or upgrade? Thoughts about clutch upgrades? I don't care a great deal of a bit of noise, just want reliability.

What is the opinion a ZF5 swap a opposed to rebuild of the T19 (?). I know that 7.3L NA 4x4's came with ZF5's, is it a bolt in?