truck wont warm up?

hawaiian808

Whiplash FTW
Reaction score
hey hows it going?

ok so im still learning about this truck and the rats nest that is under the hood. but the truck smoke quite a bit when she starts and is cold, nothing to unsual i hope. but when i am finally moving and she warms up a bit it stop's smoking. but the truck will never get up to temp? i dont have my manual yet so i have no idea if the truck has a temp sensor or not but even at highway speeds in 4th she stay under the half way mark and my egt is floating around 5-6. and zero boost. not to much of a problem till winter hits if you know what i mean. lol i cant imagine the nightmare when it gets near -15/20 when winter hits and it wont ever come up to temp.

so any ideas? thanks

Dieselcrawler

Professional wrench holder
Staff member
Reaction score
do you have a aftermarket temp gauge? if not, dont worry. lol the factory gauges SUCK!. what exactally is normal? lol

as for the pyro and boost numbers, is that just cruising? or WOT? if you are just cruising the temps seem about right, same with boost. mine just cruising on the highway is around 500*pyro and 1-2 lbs boost. when i stop on it to pass someone temps will go up to 1000* and 7 lbs boost.

hawaiian808

Whiplash FTW
Reaction score
do you have a aftermarket temp gauge? if not, dont worry. lol the factory gauges SUCK!. what exactally is normal? lol

as for the pyro and boost numbers, is that just cruising? or WOT? if you are just cruising the temps seem about right, same with boost. mine just cruising on the highway is around 500*pyro and 1-2 lbs boost. when i stop on it to pass someone temps will go up to 1000* and 7 lbs boost.

Stock gauges for the temp lol. and the 600 ish is at crusing and ive seen it climb to 1000 quick at wot. My truck was N/A then he threw a banks on it and i honestly dont know how accurate the boost gauge is. its brand new so i assume im runn 0-1lb at crusing speed and i seen it get up to 10 WOT.