tach issues.

blown84

Full Access Member
Reaction score
so my 84 has a factory tach for its 6.9 (or at least the cluster :confused:) but it doesnt work. if you hit the dash, it wiggles a little bit, then dies and goes back to zero. on FTE, i was pointed to a conductive glue on the back of it, that needed to be scraped off. SO, i took the cluster out, took the tach out of it, and there was no glue. so i cleaned up all the connections and the wirin harness and put it back together. same story. i HATE electrical issues and diagnosin them, and beins im kinda new to the world of diesel maintenance, i have no idea what im lookin for, or where its at to fix it. i got a cluster out of a gasser the other day to plug it in and see if it was an issue with the gauge, or somethin else, but havent had a chance to try it out yet. maybe yall have had this issue and/or can point me in the right direction. thanks.

P.S.- does anyone know where i can get some blue LED lights for the gauge cluster??

rhkcommander

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I might have some blues ill check for ya

IIRC you can test the tach sensor with the engine running to see if it works by: getting a multimeter out and set it to AC and should see about 40 IIRC. But i might be wrong:dunno.

Matrix37495

The Amish Wolfman
Reaction score
I dont know about the tach, but as far as the lights...don't waste your money...

I was going to put some different color lights in until i saw the green glow is from white lights shining through a green plastic piece thats part of the cluster..... So unless you take it all apart and remove that, you would barely be able to see your gauges at night... :/

blown84

Full Access Member
Reaction score
well, a green filter means it only lets blue and yellow light through (green), so if it should let the blue light though. however, i do plan on removin the filter anyways. i also plan on usin model paint to paint the gauges white with blue numbers and needles.