Fire in the engine bay!

BigRed92

Reaction score
First post here guys so take it easy on me!

No, the truck is not currently on fire.

Little backstory: 1992 F-250 XLT 7.3 IDI with 93k on the odometer. Truck belonged to my late father. It was handed down to me as a family heirloom, a reminder of everything my dad used to be, we went on many camping trips and whatnot in this truck. It has more sentimental value than just about anything I own. My dad was amazing at just about everything, a handyman that built addons to his house and wrenched on his truck without any issues.... and that didn’t exactly get passed on to me. I’m a flight paramedic, so I make my living working on people and not vehicles. If the truck had veins... I’d have it fixed in no time!

A few days ago I heard a “pop” and then it started smoking under the hood and out the vents. Popped the hood and got the fire put out, it was the glow plug controller (WTS light had remained on for about a week prior, I should have done more research). I’ve replaced the GP relay/controller, all 8 GPs (stuck with motorcraft thanks to what I’ve read here) and then the GP harness (the connections were crumbling in my hands. Ended up getting the harness for a 2004 6.0 and splicing the four wires to a single 10g as per another forum post here).

Well, it runs. That being said, the WTS start light comes on for about 2 seconds then goes off and the relay begins clicking. I’ve verified all correct wiring and connections with everything I’ve installed. When I took the truck out for a test drive I noticed my oil temp gauge stayed stuck to the left... and I can’t recall where I read it but I seem to remember the controller using some kind of oil temp to figure out how long to run the GPs. Plus, it’s a hard start... cranks for about 10 seconds before finally starting with a niceness big plume of smoke.