Delay in oil pressure on start up

Garbage_Mechan

Garbage Mechanic
Reaction score
I drive an 86 F250 6.9 / C6/ GV/ 3.55's. Truck has 360,000 miles but engine was rebuilt 70,000 ago. It has been doing great, but just lately it has began taking several seconds for the oil pressure to come up on the first start after sitting a few hours. I have mechanical oil pressure gauge. I use Baldwin oil filters. There has been no change in engine performance, noise or running oil pressure. I'm wondering if there is some kind of check valve that can fall out and allow oil drainback after it has been sitting a while? Any ideas?

BTW, I'm new over here, been lurking for years but I've been on TDS for a long time. I'm a diesel mechanic and maintenace manager for a trash truck fleet.

NCheek

Howdy
Reaction score
My truck does the same thing, but I say no cause for concern because I figured it just takes some time to get the oil up to the sender. The only real "fix" for this "problem" is to buy of fabricate some sort of "pre-luber" that will oil the engine components before startup. Others will chime in about the preluber

Garbage_Mechan

Garbage Mechanic
Reaction score
Yes, but the problem is for 65,000 miles or so it didn't do it and it takes long enough the rod bearings ar just starting to rattle the second it gets oil pressure so I'd say something has changed for the worse.

Diesel JD

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Did you replace the oil pump when you did the rebuild? I also wonder if you might be seeing something happening with that pressure relief valve in the oil cooler header. I'd say if you hear bad noises then your gut is right something is not acting like it should on startup. If there was no problem with the components complaining I'd say maybe your mechanical oil pressure tube had an air bubble or some sludge but it sounds like you hear something that worries you, and since you are an experienced mechanic and know diesels I would trust your ear.

subway