can this be true

edropthumb

Reaction score
first time visiting this site. I have two dodges, 95 & 97 . both stock and automatics. I'm no mechanic. I tow horse trailers, and 5th wheel. Met a guy today that told me if I remove my cat. converter and muffler, and sg stright pimpe, take out the 2" ring at the turbo inlet, and set up the timing, I could increase my mileage from 15/16 to 22/24 mpg. and increase power substantially. After reading several of these threads, it sounds like there are endless possibilities, most of which are greek to me. could it be that simple to get more power and mpg?

DBogo

Reaction score
nope it wouldnt be that much at most maybe 1-5 mpg but the silencer ring in the turbo when you take it out it only makes the turbo louder it has absolutely nothing to do with performance

argve

Resident Fruitcake
Reaction score
When I purchased my truck 95 2500 bolt action tranny all the mods were done for me so I can't comment on the fuel mileage increase but I can tell you from looking at the place where the silencer ring used to reside that I highly doubt it will do anthing for you by removing it because what it exposes goes no where, it's just blocking off a cavity that leads no where meaning it does not allow extra air to the compressor side of the turbo.

Now I did test drive a stock trimmed truck but that was a while before I picked up this one and I don't remember being overly impressed with it's performance - no this one knocks my socks off but she's warmed up a bit in areas other than the just exhaust.

Here is the list of mods on her but I wouldn't recommend them for an autotrans unless your going to beef up the tranny while your at it as I read on many different forums that the auto's don't take kindy to bombing as they call it.