Air Ride Suspension Install

tonkadoctor

Full Access Member
Reaction score
For those of you looking to step up to a medium duty truck, there are tons of trucks on the market at great prices right now but for medium duty class 4 - 6 trucks it is difficult to find one with air ride, especially if it has hydraulic brakes.

There are several options out there to installing air ride on one of these trucks ranging from a used air ride system off of a doner, to new systems from Kelderman, Hendricson, Reyco etc........

Over the next few days I'll be installing an air ride system on my Ford F-800 Haul and Tow RV delivery truck.

For those of you that have questions, fire away, please bear in mind that I am an over the road driver and this is a working truck and I am usually out 3 - 4 weeks at a time running 14,000 to 15,000 miles a month when freight is available. Once I pack up and hit the road in about a week, it may take a few days or so before I reply but I will answer your questions, especially when I am up in Canada and using my air card costs me the National Mint.

I have chosen to go the route of a used air ride system frame cut from a low profile IH 4300 or 4600 (can't remember which) I found on evilbay for $600. I am using a VIAIR constant duty 12v air compressor and tank and will have it set up to dump the air from the suspension from the cab using air operated controls supplying pilot air pressure, not electric solenoid valves.

Now $600 might sound like a steal, but upon close inspection yesterday morning, I find the leveling valves, pilot dump valves, air bags and shocks are garbage......... So off to the Navistar dealer I go....... $800 later I came home with an invoice for......

2 - air bags
100' 1/4" Parker air brake tubing
4' 1/8" Parker air brake tubing
4 - leveling valves (only need 2, I have other plans for the other 2)
Dash mounted dump valve
3 - gallons of Fleetgard coolant (gotta do some minor repair and PM to the cooling system)