7.3 idi charging

ericwade381

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone I'm new here I have a 88 f350 and when I bought it the guy said it would drain the batteries. So I have new batteries a starter replaced the alternator and the voltage regulator. New injectors and glow plugs. I went to start it and she did start after putting the new alt today switched to my rear tank after fixing my sending unit and she turned off. Now after charging the batteries for a few hours I get one good crank session and after the the batteries are shot?? Do I need to charge the batteries long? The way they have wires cut and just everywhere would make an electrician scream

C_Luft

Full Access Member
Reaction score
To charge the batteries full or enough to start in the morning you need to take her for a drive, for about 15 min, maybe longer since you have two batteries. I'm no electrician but I hate bad wiring, when I got my truck from the previous owner I had your same issue with batteries draining, he had all sorts of crap wired to this truck 4 front fog lights, 2 rear fog/work lights, and some other junk plug in crap, I ripped it all out and let's just say I had enough wiring for some of my friends to use and still have a lot left over.

My suggestion for the batteries draining would be to go through your wiring and make sure your contacts are good and tight. In my opinion I would pull out the aftermarket wiring and start from scratch, unless you know where everything goes then just repair it

FARMFUEL

VEGGIE BURNER
Reaction score