6.9 diesel lift pump cam issue, HELP!!

viprus

Reaction score
So, long story short, my 1985 f250 was hard to start. I thought the lift pump failed due to no diesel getting pumped into the filter head. So I replaced the lift pump, and it still diden't pump... upon further inspection i found that the lift pump cam rotates freely, which is slightly alarming. The link shows a youtube video of the problem

http://youtu.be/hLd2BHuZji0

First off.. how hard/expensive is this to fix? I'm a fully certified mechanic, and am not afraid to get messy, i just have never torn into a diesel before... I picked up this rig for 500 bucks a few months ago.

Second off, I'm in my parents driveway, so my tools are limited to a basic socket set, vise grips, and a hammer... I'm currently about 500 miles away from my home so i don't have the comfort of my tool box...

Third, I have a electric boost pump i can use for temporary purposes, but i would really like to get this fixed.

GenLightening

Yeah, it's a CHEVY!
Reaction score
The fix would be to tear the front cover off the engine and remove the camshaft. It would be easier to install an electric pump and be done with it for now.

viprus

Reaction score
The fix would be to tear the front cover off the engine and remove the camshaft. It would be easier to install an electric pump and be done with it for now.

Thanks for the quick reply, can you explain what exactly happens to my camshaft? Is the lift pump lobe just pressed on? I'm worried about driving 500 miles back if my camshaft is falling apart.

GenLightening

Yeah, it's a CHEVY!
Reaction score
I think there's a key that should be holding the pump lobe in position. Not really any way for it to come out, and the same key holds the timing gear in place. I haven't had one of these cams apart, but that's usually how they are assembled.

GenLightening

Yeah, it's a CHEVY!
Reaction score