1986 F250 6.9l Fuel Capacities?

stangclassic66

1986 Ford F-250 6.9
Reaction score
Hey Fellas, this is my first post. I have a 1986 F250 with a 6.9L w/ATS turbo and Gear Vendors Under/Overdrive unit. I've owned it for a few months and i'm still learning a ton about it. This site rocks and has a ton of info, thanks!!

One question I have is, what are the fuel tank capacities?

My fuel gauge is acting funny and reads half tank when i've burned about 10-11 gallons and after about 10 more miles it drops all the way to EMPTY. So I took the mileage down and increased the distance I drove after every fillup. I pushed the limit a few weeks ago and the truck died after I started it up one evening. (I switched to the rear tank and it took 3 cranks of about 20 seconds each crank to fire up). I drove it to the gas station and filled the tank up about 19 gallons topped off. I recorded 327 miles on that 19 gallons which turns out to be 17.2 miles per gallon.

In any case, I just wanted to know if the tank is 19-20 gallons or if it's bigger and my pickup tube is broken.

How about the rear tank? I've never pushed that to the limit but it always shows half tank for a few miles then drops to EMPTY just like the front tank. I fill that tank to about 11.4 gallons on average.

Thanks in advance.

The Warden

MiB Impersonator
Supporting Member
Reaction score
IIRC, both the front and the rear tank are 19 gallons from the factory...I thought that all '80-'97 trucks except for SWB F-150's were set up this way. I've never gotten more than 19 gallons into either tank...and, for the record, my old E-series van had a 18 and a 22 gallon tank.