Exhaust Diameter ?

Hydro-idi

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Hey fellas hope everyone has been doing well!
I recently purchased an ATS 088 turbo kit and plan on starting the installation process as soon as it comes back from typ4. My truck currently has an aftermarket 3 inch exhaust with a magna flow muffler. Will this be sufficient with the added exhaust pressures that a turbo adds? I am new to turbos and am all ears ;Really. And if I decide to "straight pipe" exhaust and eliminate muffler, will the turbo help reduce exhaust noise? Feel free to post what type of exhaust setup you are running and how it's working for you. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks and Merry Xmas!

Ian

BDCarrillo

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Is the magnaflow straight-thru? 3" is just fine.

The turbo will quiet things down a tad. In some areas they count as sound control devices.

Hydro-idi

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I am not sure if the muffler is straight thru. I am thinking it isn't because it looks similar to a flow master design

catbird7

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Truck is an 89 F350 7.3 ATS 093 with 3" DP. Currently running a 4" stainless steel (Diamond Eye) with 3" down pipe. The whole system was designed for 1999 & up 7.3 however everything fit my 89 f350 just fine. Only mod was the DP. Nice deep tone (I'm running the supplied muffler, which is a straight thru design).

sjwelds

Full Access Member
Reaction score
details in my sig i believe but here ya go.....ATS full 3" dp to 3-1/2" pipe. Walker 21470 big-truck muffler (straight thru design). turn down right in front of axle.

The Warden

MiB Impersonator
Supporting Member
Reaction score