Where am I at?

Cheapthrillb2

one ton of fun
Reaction score
89 crew srw 7.3 5 spd stock I think with 4.10's suppose to be about 120K on it
Just purchased

Yesterday was towing my Truggy on my dual axle trailer would guess the total weight to be in the 7000lb department (truck and trailer combined). I was rolling up a small grade (hill) not very steep or to long. Truck was at about 2500 rpms in 4th gear at about 55mph. Couldn't quite hold the speed and up the hill, was just barely loosing momentum/speed. Didn't matter throttle position. Really didn't want to down shift and jump the rpms over 3.

Would this be about normal for pulling similar situations or should I have down shifted and jumped the rpms up?

I am new in the world of diesels, never grew up around them, never worked on them. But I am auto tech with 10 years in a independent repair facility, just no diesel expeirence.

seawalkersee

It needs a turbo...
Reaction score
Very usual from what I have read from others. I do not do a lot of pulling with mine as it is more of a driver. The common fix for that is to put some sort of forced induction on it and then it runs better.

SWS

freebird01

Post Turtle!
Reaction score
dont hessitate to let it spin....

mine started doing better when i would drop a gear and let it rev. these trucks are capable of running on the throttle stop as long as you got a pyro to watch

Cheapthrillb2

one ton of fun
Reaction score
Haven't gotten one installed yet but is top of the list of things to do once the truck is more up to par for more frequent use.

6 Nebraska IDIs

Reaction score
Yep, spin it up. My brown truck hauled countless 21,000lb trailer loads of hay before I bought it, and it was N/A for all of it. They dropped a set of 4:10's in the rear and said they never had an issue with pulling. Ran in the upper RPM band though.

RLDSL

Diesel fuel abuser
Reaction score