No power to cab

Adrenaline73

Reaction score
I have an 1987 that has a factory 94 7.3 idi turbo in it and a zf5 speed trans. I went to go start it this morning and turned the key on and I had power but when I pressed the glow plug button it lost all power I’ve checked the fuses

1mouse3

Full Access Member
Reaction score
There is fuseable links on the main power feed that runs off the starter relay to the under hood fuse block. Check power at both ends of that lead and did you check fuses in that block?

Adrenaline73

Reaction score
There is fuseable links on the main power feed that runs off the starter relay to the under hood fuse block. Check power at both ends of that lead and did you check fuses in that block?

I don’t see any fuse blocks under the hood I’ve checked the fuses in the cab. But it just got power to where the door ding was going off but once you turn the key the power goes back out. I’m not good with electrical systems so I’m confused

bilbo

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I’ve had issues like this with a bad battery cable and/or clamp on other vehicles. It works fun until you put a heavy load on it (like glow plugs/starter) and it burns through the tiny bit of metal that was making the circuit and opens it. If you can wiggle the clamps/cables and get things to turn on this might be it. I have poured salty water on the terminals to get enough continuity to start my car and get me home once. Not sure if this is your issue but something to check anyway.

Adrenaline73

Reaction score