Introduction

theSHERPA

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Thought my first post should be an introduction. I am new to the IDI world, and stumbled on a rig I could not pass on--a 1991 F-350 4x4 Ambulance (The Sherpa). It was originally contracted and built for the US Military and was used on the flight line in Antarctica. N/A 7.3, E4AOD, single cab with battery, block, trans pan and antifreeze heaters and giant alternator. Somehow it made it back to California around 2011 when its replacement E450 4x4 vans showed up. I flew into California and bought it sight unseen, and drove back to Texas with only a couple minor issues. The truck weighs 9600 lbs dry, so it is a pig.

In Antarctica, it had 44 inch Ground Hawg tires, but now rides on 37 inch milsurp tires with 4.56 gears. Kingpin D60 up front. Front end sheet metal is pretty beat up and due for replacement--not sure if I will try and tackle the 92 up swap or stick with the older style front end. All the lights and siren still work. I plan to build it into an expedition type rig I can use for camping and using as a baja chase vehicle.

I am currently retrofitting a 5000 BTU window AC into the back shelter (origianl system could only run when truck was running, and it piggybacked off the cabin AC compressor). Got a stack of mechanical stuff to do too. Working on getting it safe and functional.

Future plans (and future topics I will be asking advice on):

-Install the Banks Sidewinder kit I have had in my attic for a while. I think it is missing some parts and my model (square air filter intake) is no longer pictured on the Banks website or in parts diagrams, so not sure exactly what is missing.
-Install the Sterling disc brake kit with parking brakes for the rear end.
-Find and upgrade to Ford Hydroboost! Vaccum is not going to cut it.