Hello, good morning, and I'm screwed.

WasteOBurner

Reaction score
potter valley, california. mendocino county
Hello, good morning, and I'm screwed. (maybe too dramatic?)

As above, just purchased a 1992 f250. 7.3, 4x4, Zf5. High mileage, 265k. well maintained by previous second owner. I bought it for work, I'm an ironworker, and I have heavy things to move around in mud.
anyway, here is the story.
I'm a proficient mechanic. It was running pretty well, no problems until I tried to install trailer lights. Now, it won't fire. cranks very quickly, wts light comes on for 10 seconds, and flashes once.
here are my symptoms. all of the following happened after installing the trailer lights, (which I have already removed by the way.) Right before the no start, the solenoid, (can't identify which one), would click on, off, on and off. very strange. (It was doing this when I was testing the trailer lights for operation, with the key in the first position, engine off.)
Driver side power window doesn't work.
No brake lights.
No start.
The power window switch is good.
the brake light bulbs are good.
the gpc is getting 12v at the terminal when off, and when key is on, is getting 12v at both terminals
I have done the obligatory searching, and troubleshooting.
I plan on installing a manual glow plug system, I have in the past and can be trusted not to burn up the glow-plugs.
I will test the glow-plugs now and report back.
the fuses are good. two were blown. one in the cabin for the 12v cig lighter, and one in the engine bay, number 5, 15amp. (back up trailer relay)
thank you in advance

Last edited:

icanfixall

Official GMM hand model
Reaction score