GPC Upgrade - I know this has been beaten to death but...

AZDIRT

Full Access Member
Reaction score
GPC Upgrade - Quick Question

I am still relatively new to the IDIs and just need a little clarification.

The following two threads seem to have conflicting information (No need to read them, they are just for reference):

http://www.oilburners.net/forums/showthread.php?t=27069&highlight=solid+state+glow+plug+controller

http://www.oilburners.net/forums/showthread.php?t=21811

I want to use the later combination GP controller/GP relay in place of the old style "divorced" system on my 85 6.9.

Here is my question: Can I JUST disconnect the old GP Controller, and replace the GP Relay with the combinatino GP controller/GP relay, as shown here:
You must be registered for see images attach

I do know that I will need to run the trigger wire and connect the ground as well.

The important part is that I want to make sure that I don't have to replace my old style GP harness or GPs themselves with the newer style (Basically I want to use all my original stuff except the controller).

Thanks!!!

Last edited:

AZDIRT

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Basically, I need to know if the newer GP Controller/Relay unit will work with early 6.9 GP harness and glow plugs. I don't see why not, unless there is different resistance (Ohms) somewhere in the harnesses or GPs.

Thanks

Dan

icanfixall

Official GMM hand model
Reaction score
I'm not really an electrical expert but my answer is yes. The harness will work and the plugs being the spade type will not change anything. Others will chime in with any corrections if I missed something.

Diesel JD

Full Access Member
Reaction score
The harness will work but the plugs are different. A possible solution is you could use some Government Motors positive temp. coefficient plugs. They will plug into your current harness and work with that kind of controller. You'd have to look up the 6.5 glow plugs I can't remember.

The Warden